4 Dangers to Avoid in Leadership, by Ty Tamasaka

4 Dangers to Avoid in Leadership, by Ty Tamasaka

3.png

Navigating through leadership can be a great joy… and a great challenge at the same time.  Here are some dangers to avoid in leadership.  I’ve been guilty of these and am grateful

They are in no particular order.

1 – Isolating myself from others.  I am an introvert by nature.  I struggle to let others come close to me because I work in a law enforcement context and

This is dangerous because though I am an introvert, I need people and people need me.  Following Jesus is not something I can or should attempt to do alone.  I need community.  I need accountability.  I need others.

I’ve often heard people ask if you can NOT go to church and still be a Christian.  The answer is, yes you can NOT go to church and still be a Christian.  However you cannot be a growing Christian and not go to church. Isolating myself from others is a dangerous mindset to avoid.

2 – Neglecting to take care of my family first.  This is a dangerous trap.  Serving the Lord in ministry is a blessing and can be enjoyable – but if we are not careful, it can be consuming.  I’ve heard some people, “I’ll take care of the ministry (God’s work) and He will take care of my family.”  This is a false and dangerous belief system.  The Bible calls the church the bride of Christ.  Jesus cares for His bride.  He calls me to take care of my bride and my kids.  It’s important not just as ministry leaders, but as spouses and parents, not to neglect the ministry of our marriages and children.      

3 – Not taking the time to enjoy the journey.  In life and ministry today, it is easy to fall into the trap of always seeking the next opportunity or event and constantly be striving for improvement – while failing to celebrate success.  Our western culture often idolizes activity and sees busyness for God and as the equivalent of being intimate with God.  Busyness for God does not equal intimacy with God.  It’s important to take time to enjoy the journey and to celebrate the presence of God.    

3 – Procrastinating.  I really struggle with this one.  When I am overwhelmed, I tend to justify putting things off until later.  Of course I have work to do, family to tend to, books to read, messages to prepare, coaching the kids, books to write, and postings to put up on blogs.  I’ll take care of the things that drain me last – (which may also mean never)!  Don’t procrastinate.  Take care of those things that you don’t feel like doing.

There you have it friends.

Don’t isolate yourself from others!

Take the time to enjoy your family! 

Enjoy the journey!

Stop procrastinating!      

Ty Tamasaka is an author who hold a Master of Arts Degree from Pacific Rim Christian University in Christian Ministry  He is a Bible teacher who loves to encourage people to enjoy Jesus’ grace and extend His Kingdom. Ty just released his new book Starting Fresh: Following Jesus on the Adventure of a Lifetime in addition to More than a Conqueror: 5 Pathways to Personal Revival.    

amazon-comMTC.JPG

Leave a Reply

